Friend wants to start playing guitar (or atleast try). I intend on teaching her and will most likely borrow her my acoustic since I barely play it anymore. However problem is the strings. It's not the standard gauge on which I started playing, it's thicker then standard (sorry, I don't know the precise size). Anyway this will obviously make playing it harder, and was wondering if starting playing on thick strings will benefit her in the future? Or should I just change the strings to a standard? Well Obviously I know it will benefit her more or less, but just wondering if it's worth it?

Opinions?
Well it'll be harder in the beginning, but I think it'll be worth it considering her bigger finger strength by the time she can properly play it. You might want to slap some thinner strings on though, thick strings might put her off if she is "just trying".
Put some lighter strings on it, starting out on the guitar is hard enough as it is, there's no point making it even harder.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
yeah, thick strings will make it much harder to learn at first, meaning she'd be more likely to give up. I personally have one acoustic with heavy strings, and a second with a light guage. I'll play the heavy one mainly when teaching, letting them use the easiest, but when they start to get good enough I'll swap them around, same with certain exercises.

Try to play with her as she learns, so she has an example of what it should sound like, but whatever you do DON'T show off, its very patronising.
Yeah, I found thicker gauges for when I just started out made playing electric alot easier. The only problem is that she might find it so hard and uncomfortable to play that she decides give up. I'd say an average acoustic string gauge is thick enough.
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser Fr