yes i am still a newbie and still learning crap... so my question to you is.... and please put this in the dumbest form that you can think of... I wanna learn some soad...like aerials and chop suey but they say there tuning for the bass is in drop c... cgcf.... or something like that.... wth? I have an obviously crappy tuner.... so how would i tune this at a drop c? the tuner is a seiko... with input and output
http://www.youtube.com/user/ladiesbass

Bass: Yamaha RBX374 (4 String)
Bass: Schecter Damien-5 (5 String)
Amp: Fender Rumble 60
Future Stack: Ampeg SVT-7PRO Head, SVT-410HLF Bass Speaker Cabinet
Can you tune to Drop D? If you can do that, you can then tune everything relative to drop d...then tune the d to a c and you will have your Drop C tuning...sorry thats about as simple as I can get it...
There is no greater joy than soaring high on the wings of your dreams, except maybe the joy of watching a dreamer who has nowhere to land but in the ocean of reality.

I'm back!
Quote by LadiesBass
yeah, i am at dadg right now...

now tune every thing down a step or two notes down
I sent a message to your inbox...
There is no greater joy than soaring high on the wings of your dreams, except maybe the joy of watching a dreamer who has nowhere to land but in the ocean of reality.

I'm back!
Last edited by Andian03 at Sep 11, 2010,
Nitpick: I think those SOAD songs you mentioned are actually in Drop C#, but I may be wrong.
If you're in DADG right now. Tune your A string to the fifth fret of your E (now D) string, Your higher D to the fifth fret of your A string, then your G string to the fifth fret of your D string. Then Fret the 7th fret of your E (now D) string and lower it until it's the same note as the A (now G) string.
Hope that wasn't too hard to follow
Basses:
Fender Precision Bass
Fender Jazz Bass
1967 Fender Coronado Bass II
Warwick Star Bass
Squier Precision Bass TB
Quote by gquady09