Hey, I was just wondering if anybody could send me a link that could help me learn to play bass better? Like, different play styles and stuff like that?

Just any sort of guide as to how to improve at bass would be greatly appreciated.

Really sorry if this is in the wrong section, by the way...
To improve just play the instrument really. I've been playing bass for a little over 8 months and I have some pretty advanced techniques down (5 string sweeping and 8 finger tapping). But I did play guitar before I started playing bass so that helped.

If you want to learn metal start with stuff like Iron Maiden and Black Sabbath and possibly some Metallica. Then you'll get better by playing (no pick though picked bass sounds like shit and is easy as ****). After you feel confident with your abilities try to learn some Cannibal Corpse or something ( I don't like them but Alex Webster is good). Or try to learn some Faceless or Necrophagist or maybe some Obscura. Technical Death Metal bass is the most difficult genre of music to play on bass that I've discovered so far. If you disagree look up Brain Drill and Viraemia. It's just retarded what those guys are able to do.

To learn Jazz just google walking jazz basslines then just practice those. I started learning jazz bass like a week ago and it really isn't too hard to be honest.

To play Black Metal on bass you pretty much just have to tremolo pick alot and be able to play fast.

I'd help you out with Funk and slap bass but I really really need to work on mine and I don't want to share how I do it because I could be doing it wrong and it might **** you up. But there are some great funk bassists. Check out Victor Wooten's classical thump. It'll probably blow your mind.

If you want to play rock or punk play like 2 notes the whole song. Those genres are basic on bass or guitar and you can pretty much play most rock or punk music after playing for a year or two.