Hey guys, I have a Jackson Warrior WRXT X guitar with basswood body,a Line 6 UberMetal Distortion Pedal and a Marshall MG100DFX 100W. Although i get a good tone on this setup, the pickups don't quite please me. They don't get good harmonics and even the clean sound isnt good. Im looking to replace the pickups, either with an EMG 81/85 combo or a single EMG ALX with ABQ preamp.
Which one should i get?
And im not too good at soldering and dont trust anyone with my guitar, so thats why im looking for EMG solderless designs that needs only one or two solders.
Im looking for a heavy tone like COB and Cannibal Corpse.The cleans should just be bearable
You'd better change your amp. Changing your pickups won't make any difference through that amp, especially active pickups.
Fender MIA Stratocaster (with SD Twang Banger)
Epiphone Les Paul Special II
Johnson Acoustic
Palmer FAB5
Quote by hansolo1106
You'd better change your amp. Changing your pickups won't make any difference through that amp, especially active pickups.

Im really looking for a better sound and specially the harmonics. Id buy an amp along with the pickups. Which amps and pickups would you suggest?Id spend about 500-650$ on the amp
I would first buy the amp, and then you'll see, if you'd still like to change the pickups.
What kind of music do you play?

edit: oh I see, Cannibal Corpse and COB.
Well, in that case a Peavey 6505+ 112 combo would be a good choice.
Or maybe a Jet City JCA2112RC 20W combo with a boost pedal. I heard some sound clips, and it sounds awesome for metal.
Johnson Acoustic
Palmer FAB5
Last edited by hansolo1106 at Sep 12, 2010,
Quote by hansolo1106
I would first buy the amp, and then you'll see, if you'd still like to change the pickups.

I play heavy,thrash,death metal and some rock as well-Metallica,Slayer,Megadeth,COB,Cannibal Corpse,Carcass n stuff.