Im so sorry if this question has been asked before, and feel free to remove this but...
I started learning piano 5/6 years ago,
got to grade 3,
lost the will to live (music shouldn't be drummed into you by force!),
Didn't really play for a couple of years,

And now I want to again! Have you got any advice for (re) learning? I was always really REALLY bad at sight reading, in theory, I could do it, but I always took AGES to work something out, then Id just memorise it (photographic memory) and play it from memory every time.

this didnt really rub well with my piano teacher, and he kinda hated me! THat put me off learning, but Id like to pick it back up again. Obviously, I have the basic theory knowledge (Grd3) but how would I go about teaching myself?

Any tips, advice, experiances, would help greatly! Especially on the touchy subject of sight reading! ***AlanHB edit***

Please and thank you!
Dream Theater- This Dying Soul Unison.

^Kidding, that will probably make you commit suicide.

Simple pieces? Hmm.....what sort of music do you listen to anyway? Most classical pieces are usually quite hard....

Dark Tranquillity's "The Mundane And The Magic" has a more or less simple piano bit in the beginning.....
Last edited by GS LEAD 5 at Sep 14, 2010,
you could get some simplified versions of classical pieces, which are more beginner friendly.
Just go to your local music store and ask.

When I had piano lessons I really liked Jürgen Moser's Rock Piano. It teaches the stuff you need for playing Jazz, Blues, etc and even has a part about improvisation.
Sadly as far as I know it's just written in German, so it may no really help you.
I like a lot of stuff really, quite varied. Im not a complete beginner so it doesnt have to be like Ode to Joy or Rugrats or anything (I learnt them when I was 7!).