I'm a guitarist that has jumped to playing bass with a band, mainly due to the talent of the other members & quality of songwriting. I've been using a crappy 15watt guitar amp for practice, not ideal but needs must, and a Peavey head with a Carlsbro cab in the rehearsal room. but as gigs are looming, I need an amp. Been thinking about these two amps; http://www.guitarampkeyboard.com/en/ampeg-ba-115/69685 http://www.guitarampkeyboard.com/en/a-100/12556 would like your opinions on these, or something else about the same sort of price. Cheers
Depending on where you are gigging, the 100W may not be enough to push you over a drummer / guitarist.

But here's my take on the two you've posted.

The Hartke is the better of the two. Its a good solid transparent amp and sounds great. Its built well.

The Ampeg. This is coming from a huge Ampeg fan mind you. Don't go there. Like GK, Ampegs entry level combos leave much to be desired. The classic Ampeg sound is compromised and the amps are underpowered given their wattage.

Another option is to take that budget and go used. You will find some great gear in the used market that will allow you to upgrade to a better level within the same budget.
Eh, I think most will say Hartke. The most being the most who actually know what theyre talking about. Ampeg has a big name, but their low end stuff is meh. Hartke, on the other hand, is a tried and true brand for all prices.
...it was bright as the sun, but with ten times the heat
Venue size is likely to be no more that 250, probably less. As the Hartke has an XLR out, it could easily be fed straight into a PA, leaving the amp speaker as a monitor. The music type is not loud, the rehearsal amp is only 200 watt, with a 1x15+hf horn cab, and that never gets above 3 on the master & 5 on the gain, so I'm hoping 100watt should be enough. I keep looking for something used nearish to me, but all the good stuff seems to be about 2-300 miles from me :0(