I'm in the market for some new Rock-A-Billy to add to my collection, any suggestions would be appreciated.

I'm pretty new to the Rock-a-Billy scene, so even the obvious bands would help me out.

Thanks,
Petey D

Ankle Burner & World Class Sauce Jockey

Sparrow Big Daddy Ace

Sparrow Ratrod Boss

Johnson JT50 Mirage
the stray cats
plmokn12 wrote:
Yes! You deserve a high five in the spirit of Jim Henson.

Gretsch G5129
Gibson Les Paul Standard
Fender Stratocaster HSS
Yamaha FG-336SB
One guy I'm a huge huge fan of is a guy named Webb Wilder.Hoodoo Witch
Hittin' Where it Hurts
Jumpin' Jack Flash (Cover)
Baby Please Don't Go (Cover)
Changin' Colors

There's also Southern Culture on the Skids. They have an extremely similar sound to wilder, but they are probably much more famous.

You also have the godfather of rockabilly, Hassil "The Haze" Adkins
(I'll cut your head off so you can't eat) "No More Hotdogs"
No one was singing about cuttin' peoples heads off in the 50s, and thats more punk-rock then... anything!

Here's a trailer for what looks like an amazing documentary about him
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bo2gyABxkjM

Also, These guys are more rock then billy, but you gotta check out Little Feat
Fat Man in the Bathtub (which is, incidentally, one of the best names for a song ever)
Cold, Cold, Cold
On Your Way Down (performed by Gvt Mule (Widespread Panic also covers this one)
They're albums are equally good, RIP Lowell George (the singer)

Just to throw out a list of other guys related:
Bonnie Raitt
John Hiatt (look up, "Feels like Rain")
Ry Cooder (Check out Boomers Story)
North Mississippi (Check out "Mean Ol' Wind Died Down")
The Creepshow
OAKLAND A's - 9 TIME CHAMPS!!

DUKE BLUE DEVILS - 4 TIME CHAMPS & 19 TIME ACC CHAMPS!!

OAKLAND RAIDERS - 4 TIME LEAGUE CHAMPS!!

GOLDEN STATE WARRIORS - 3 TIME LEAGUE CHAMPS!!

SAN JOSE SHARKS - NONE LOL!!
@ nmitchell076