I'm still quite new at guitar, I've been playing for about 4 months now but I'm having real trouble with anything above basic chords.

Basically because my hands are so tiny (I'm a girl and only 5ft1in) I can't reach around the fretboard if my fingers have to be even 2 frets apart. Obviously this is highly annoying as I would really like to get better, so I was wondering if anyone knew any techniques or stretches that helped with this? And is it my technique or do I need a lower action guitar? (I play an Aria AMB-35 at the moment.)

Any advice greatly appreciated.
People always say this, it's because you're new to playing. When you have been playing for a while, you will get used to bigger stretches without any effort

There are people such as John Denner who plays without a right arm, and he's a great player. So get over it, play more. And eventually it wont be a problem anymore
If you practice scales or chromatic excersises near the twelfth fret then progressively get nearer the first fret, you should get better with stretches. Also don't give up as it might take a while but it will be worth it in the end. Hope this helps.
Quote by uk.mace
This man is smart.

Quote by guitar-guy69
you spelt colors wrong

Tweet me bro.
Just keep playing, it's like someone playing sports for the first time, they just get more flexible over time.
My dear girl, I am here to instill hope. That one day, you may be like this man.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PG2804ggsI0

Although you are very most likely better looking.

But like the others have noted, practice. When I first began, I could stretch barely five frets across, now I can stretch somewhere around seven. Just keep your chin up, and don't let it get you down, otherwise you'll be playing the blues. Unless you like that, which is cool.
Your hands will definitely become more supple with practice. At some point you will notice stretches that used to hurt somehow don't anymore. So it will get easier.