Hello UG,

I've had an acoustic guitar for about 2.5 years now and I go through phases of playing everyday, but then I won't play for like 2 months. I really want to get serious about my guitar playing, but I always tend to make it t chord changes and barre chords and I just kind of quit playing.

I'm a college student (18 hours this semester), so how would I go about designing a practice regiment?

Note: I've played trombone for 10 years, so I have musical experience. It just seems guitar has even more muscle memory than playing brass, so I don't know if my trombone regiment of 30 mins 4 times a week would be effective. As I said, I keep stopping everytime I hit the wall.

Thanks UG!
--Kenny
Tear down the wall...

haha but seriously, you really do have to keep practicing through it. Barre chords are tough at first but the more you try to hold them the easier they get
practice as much as you can every day always, and diversify what you play. I play death metal, prog, acoustic, and jazz...a wierd combo eh? Trust me, diversity is key in keeping yourself interested and ambitious. I wouldnt anchor yourself to a schedule either, i tried doing that at first and i found myself wanting to stop playing before the hour i had set aside was up, now i can play for several hours and not even realize until i look at the clock.
I recommend that if you get to something that takes your interest away, just start playing something that you enjoy. so if you like to just improv, when you hit the wall, start to improv for a little while. If you do better learning on a schedule, like I do (it's not for everyone), then make sure that you devote each day of the week to something different. like taking classes in college, you may want to take a different class every day of the week, so your not forced to put up with the boring stuff every single day.