I just need a bass so that I can record songs with all the instruments. I have the Line 6 Pod X3 and I recorded something with my friends bass and I thought it sounded great, but my friends bass was actually very cheap! He has the Ibanez GSR200 4-String Bass

So for this reason, I really don't think it is necessary for me to buy an expensive bass. But I don't know much about basses and I don't want to go too cheap and get a piece of crap.

I have a bass in mind, the Squier Affinity Series P Bass. It looks nice and it's definitely affordable. Is this a good choice? Any help is appreciated

(Also I don't want to get a starter pack because I really don't want one of those 15W amps!)
Ibanez are always a good decision, especially if you are looking for a well-priced bass guitar. I've been playing bass for 5 years now and my first one was the one you posted, and I still rely on it when it comes to live performances. It sounds great wether you play it with your fingers or with a plec.
I also helped finishing some records with it, you just have to know how to play it, lol.
Yeah I liked the sound of it, especially when I recorded through the Pod... it might seem like a douchey move though to just get the same bass that my buddy has :/
Squier vs Ibanez, get the Ibanez man. You can never go wrong with an Ibanez its so versitile and even their cheaper basses are extrememly reliable and rugged.

Hope this helped!
pinga
Dang, 2 out of 2 for Ibanez. Are there other models around the same price range that are good?

And I might send him a message asking how he feels about me getting the same bass... He may not want to say the truth though... And I don't think it's a good idea anyway. If somebody bought the same guitar that I have only a few (4) months after I bought it I know I wouldn't like it
i would recommend neither and go for something like a: http://www.guitarcenter.com/Epiphone-Epiphone-Thunderbird-IV-Bass-100388504-i1150015.gc