So I've been having a little bit of a time trying to get a decent thrash tone with my Peavey 6505 Plus. It's sad that my little Harmony 4080 solid state amp from 1988 can out do my new Peavey when it comes to thrash tones. When I play, I can't get a sound that really sounds tight or crunchy. Palm muting sounds meh and the articulation isn't that great when on the lead channel. I'm not really sure what to do about it, but I was thinking maybe new tubes? Or maybe a better distortion pedal? Maybe a boost or overdrive instead? I'm new to the world of tube amps, so I'm not sure how to go about this. Suggestions?
6505 + Maxon 808 (or any other 808 clone) seems to be the general consensus around here. I'm sure that would definitely help.
Epiphone Dot
DIY Esquire w/Neovin Power Rock pickup
Vox AC30VR 212
Arion MTE-1 (LED clipping diodes added)
Vox Tonelab LE
Roland SDE1000 delay

Quote by DaMarsbarPerson
By high-gain I don't mean stupid stuff. I just mean styles like Motley Crue or Iron Maiden
Don't use a distortion pedal.

Maybe an overdrive pedal.

New preamp tubes may not hurt but I doubt that is it either.

Honestly it sounds like you got a dud. I'd return it for a new one.

You should not be having these issues. What are your settings and guitar/pup specifics?
My settings get tweeked a lot, so I don't have anything down yet. Currently the post is on 8, the Highs are on 8, the Mids are on 3, the Lows are on 6, and the distortion is on 5 or 6 usually, though right now it's on 8.

I play a Kaman GTX 23 with a Seymour Duncan in the bridge. What kind I haven't a clue. I'll record some sound clips comparing the 6505 to the Harmony so there's no confusion. I really don't want to go back to Guitar Center and return this thing, cause I've had nothing but trouble since I bought it.