I play pickstyle, my bass is a Yamaha RBX 170, my amp is a Line 6 LowDown 150 and my favorite bands are Megadeth, Metallica, Anthrax, System Of A Down, Iron Maiden, Motörhead, Slayer and Rage Against The Machine. I need some new strings since I've been using the same ones for over 8 months now, and I need some BRIGHT ones, so help with suggestions please...

What should I look for in strings for them to sound BRIGHT?
How can new strings affect my playing, for example are there ones that would allow me to play faster?
What strings would you suggest?
Need any more info?
Just get some DRs or Ernie Ball slinkys. I got slinkys like a month ago and they sound really good. New strings just sound BRIGHT, that's basically all there is to it. The strings don't really make you play any faster it's all about the finger technique, or in your case picking technique. I don't play bass with a pick so I don't know how new strings would sound with it but I'm assuming it would sound good because new bass strings are one of the best things ever in my opinion.

On another note I've always wanted to ask someone why they play bass with a pick. So, why do you play bass with a pick? I don't understand it ( I understand picking because I play guitar, I just don't understand why people play with a pick) and when I play with a pick I get really bored because picked bass in my opinion is very boring. I also feel pick limits me a lot too. I can't 8 finger tap without dropping the pick and I have less control of my tone with a pick and I've found that it sounds like shit but when I play with my fingers I get a much better tone without changing my settings. Picked bass makes me feel like I'm cheating in a way though because it's so much easier to play. I'm just curious about different styles of play and I would like you to explain it to me If you would like.
Quote by PeeInMyAss
On another note I've always wanted to ask someone why they play bass with a pick. So, why do you play bass with a pick?