Page 1 of 2
Hey guys,

I was planning to buy a new guitar, but then I heard about the Bugera 333XL, and damn does it sound good.

The thing is though, I'm new to tube amps, and wouldn't have the slightest idea how to deal with them. For example : I heard stuff about needing to let the tubes warm up in standby first and that stuff. Could anyone tell me some of the stuff like that I need to know?

Also, how often will the tubes need to get replaced? I'm 15 and spending 130 euros on tubes every 6 months isn't something I'll look forward too.

Thanks!
Marshall 50 Watt Vintage Modern
Marshall 1960AV
Fender Custom Shop Strat
Ibanez Prestige RG3120
Squier Classic Vibe Telecaster
Strymon Mobius
TC Polytune
TC Flashback
Mad Professor LGW
Fulltone OCD
JOYO Vintage OD
Behringer EQ700
for general home use you can probably get away with replacing the tubes every year or so or as required. About 30 seconds on standby is enough to warm them up but it's best to leave the amp on standby for a few minutes again before switching off this is where you can damage them.
tubes can fail at anytime particularly power tubes, but if you run them 3 or 4 times a week and they don`t fail 12 - 18 months life from them is normal before you notice any degradation, but that also deends on how many hours you run them for and how hard you drive them.

yes you get the best tone when the the tubes are nice and warm, pre amp tubes potentially last forever...(in reality you`d probably change them every couple of years)

the turn off procedure is standby then power off there`s no need to to leave it in standby when shutting down it`s a common misnomer that you do this.

when turning on power then leave for a couple of minutes then turn the standby switch on.

if you need to leave the amp to answer the phone make a drink etc then you`d put it into standby, providing you are coming back to play through it within the next 10-20 minutes
Last edited by ibanezgod1973 at Sep 19, 2010,