Hi, I'm a guitarist interested in bass. I intend to play heavily downtuned stuff similar to Korn. I'm primarily going for that sound. I know Fieldy plays a 5-string tuned to A. I'm not sure how it works when matching guitar and bass tunings. I normally play in D Standard, Drop C, or C# Standard on my guitar (6-string). I'm willing to spend up to $1000. I really like the Schecter Stiletto Custom and the Epiphone Thunderbird Pro but I don't know anything about bass. Are these good choices and what amps should I look at? I'll probably wait for a Black Friday sale. I also have a Boss GT-10 and I'm wondering if those effects would work for bass.
https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=737491

You may wish to have a read through this thread. It covers a lot of your questions.

For the sake of ease, many bassists tune the same as the guitarist(s), unless you are specifically looking for a Korn tone? If so, you may need to detune to A to get the strings loose enough to really clank against the fretboard.

If you're into Korn and the likes, I think the Schecter would be more to your tastes.

And your effects unit will work with the bass, however you may lose some low end frequencies.
Why not get an Ibanez? That's what Fieldy uses. I'd say get a SRT 805DX or an SR 755?

EDIT: If you're new to bass and trying to play Korn I REALLY suggest you learn a good slap technique cause thats all Korn bass is really. Its alot to get used to from playing guitar to advanced slap techniques.
pinga
Last edited by Cb4rabid at Sep 20, 2010,
Why not get an Ibanez? That's what Fieldy uses. I'd say get a SRT 805DX or an SR 755?

EDIT: If you're new to bass and trying to play Korn I REALLY suggest you learn a good slap technique cause thats all Korn bass is really. Its alot to get used to from playing guitar to advanced slap techniques.