just about anything in the preamp will make it less dark...JJs are dark

i know a few people that like the JJs in the power section of a 5150 though most people go with a Chinese valve in V1 and V5...then Sovtek or Electro-Harmonix in 3, 4, and 5. I liked Shuguangs in the XXX preamp...but ended up going back to JJs because the XXX is so bright anyway...darker sounding preamp tubes help even that out. I have limited experience with new Tungsols...the only ones I've used are ones that have came stock in my amps and have been in need of replacement.
Last edited by eyebanez333 at Sep 20, 2010,
JJ ecc83,s are high gain. You should go with tungsol or sovtek lps in that amp.
Shuguangs work great in just about everything. It's even better that they're the cheapest preamp tubes you can buy in most cases
Quote by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.

www.SanctityStudios.com
V1 - Tung-Sol
V2 - Penta 12ax7
V3 - Shuguang 12AX7 9th gen.
V4 - Shuguang 12AX7 9th gen.
V5 - Shuguang 12AX7 9th gen.

Trust me.

Winged C, TAD, or Rubys in the power section are amazing.

All balanced tubes, gold pins, ect are all bull shit snake oil in guitar tube amps. Balanced tubes only make a different in really high quality hifi stereos.
Guitars:
Ibanez UV777P
Ibanez RGD2127FX
Ibanez RG3120TW
Ibanez RGD7321
Ibanez RG6003FM
Ibanez SA160
Jackson Slatxmg3-7
Amps:
Baron Custom Amps K88
Rivera Knucklehead TRE
Fryette Sig: X
Randall RM4 /w Modded modules
Cabs:
Mesa 4x12
Bogner 4x12
Peavey 4x12(K85s)
Last edited by kylendm at Sep 20, 2010,
Seconding TAD power tubes. Would also recommend a Sovtek 12AX7LPS in V5.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??
This info might by helpful...