I've been playing guitar on and off for about 5 years. I love playing, I love listening to it. Guitar is truly my favorite thing in the world, but i just can't seem to teach myself how to play chords. I have a chart that shows me what they are but i just cant manage to motivate my fingers into moving fast enough. Are there any songs or finger excersizes that can help me too learn??!!!!
Just force the chord changes. Pick 2 Chords you want to learn, then strum slow and steady, just downstrokes on the beat. Change between these chords you are holding every 4 strums. Keep up the strumming no matter what, even if you have to think where to put the fingers or hit muted or wrong fretted strings.

It will sound like shit at first, but you have to play through that. Eventually your fretting hand will try to keep up with your strumming. At least that's what works for me.
Hello, I'm confused. You say you have been playing on and off for five years surely you must be able to play some chords. 5 years is a long time. What chords are you having specific trobule with?
Quote by hellybelly
Hello, I'm confused. You say you have been playing on and off for five years surely you must be able to play some chords. 5 years is a long time. What chords are you having specific trobule with?

BB King has been playing longer than most people have been alive and he doesn't play chords.

It's just about practicing relentlessly. There's no magic trick to doing chords.
Hi, I'm Peter
You should memorise all the easy basic chords first. Don't try to play any rhythm, just memorise the shapes so that your fretting hand remembers, what to play when you see "Am" for example. Once you get that down, you can start adding some right hand strumming.
Quote by Stratwizard