...hi.

hears the problem, my fingers get calluses like they should but after a while they get all flaky and peely and my index finger gets a pit from where the skin was which makes it harder to fret with that finger.
i normally just stop playing till my fingers go back to normal which can take 4-6 weeks( if not longer). i know that there's got to be a way to prevent this or is it normal ?

I've been a guitarist for 5 years now and i always get this problem.

any help would be nice. thanks
Patience is really the only thing I can think of. That and maybe eating lots of raisins and peanuts. Of course you could just tough it out and peel off the callused skin. I mean do guys like zakk wylde or Kirk hamett cancel a world tour for weeks bc of a little pain in their fingers? A little food fer thought.
I get exactly what you've just described and i've been playing as long as you too. My fingertips go through stages... Right now i've enough dead skin to play through the pain. But only for a few more days...
I just keep playing. The calluses seem to alway just become soild again. If you have to pick any skin off don't take anymore off than you have to.
I used to get that a lot with my first guitar. it's a really old acoustic with brass strings and really high action. I had to push really hard to fret and it killed my fingers. I used to think that all guitars are like that but ever since I've gotten an electric my fingers look normal.
I get that problem and ive been playing for only 10 months.

I actually have a groove on my index, middle and ring fingers where the string sits. This happens to me when my strings get old. Ill put on a brand new set of strings(Erine Ball 9's) and with in 20 minutes i can see pentatonic patterns worn off the strings. And my finger tips turn a light green tint from the chrome on my tips. Once i reach this point it hurts to play(But i play anyway), so i go through strings like once a week.