Hey guys, I am currently aware that you need a TV licence even if you are watching online. However, does anyone know if it's possible for anyone to detect this?

I'm a student and I really don't wanna shell out for a licence, I barely even watch BBC anyway.
If you have a laptop, you can legally watch live streamed TV and be covered by your home licence if you unplug the laptop.

And as far as I know there is no way of detecting you watching from outside your room apart from a TV licence person seeing you do so through your window.
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.
You still need a licence even for internet TV like the BBC iPlayer. Not so sure if the same applies for the TV channels on YouTube.
You guys need to buy a license to watch TV? That SUCKS!
All I know to answer your question is from the TV license website:
If you watch or record television programmes as they're being shown on TV you must, by law, be covered by a TV Licence, no matter what device you're using.

Sounds to me like a legal loophole might be to pause the "live" show about a minute, and just watch a minute behind schedule. Then you're not watching it right as it's being broadcast as the law says.
I'm rgrockr and I do not approve of this message.
Last edited by rgrockr at Sep 21, 2010,
Quote by Fassa Albrecht
You still need a licence even for internet TV like the BBC iPlayer. Not so sure if the same applies for the TV channels on YouTube.

No you don't.

See: http://www.tvlicensing.co.uk/check-if-you-need-one/for-your-home/students-aud1/
In the box at the bottom it explains which criteria need to be fulfilled to not require a licence.
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.