So, I go to a private university in Southeast Michigan (Lawrence Tech if any of you have heard of it), and I'm beginning to wonder if going to a private college was a good choice. I'm currently a sophomore and paying $12k a semester...it only increases from here on out. Yes I got a scholarship, but it only covers about 15-20% of the tuition. I get no grants from the government. My financial aid officer actually told me: Yeah I don't know what to tell you, maybe if you had a rich uncle or something you can borrow from him.

The reason I chose it in the first place was the promise of an almost-guaranteed job in the field. They threw their stats for example: 85% get a job in their related career field in the first month, 94% in the first year. Everyone that doesn't go to LTU says "Wow thats a great school" but I'm just not seeing why. The course work is much harder than any of the universities around. We have much more homework, and I am not really hearing any great success stories. I have friends that have parents that graduated from LTU. So I ask them (if not too personal) "how did their career workout, did they get a good job?" etc. A few of them said "yeah, I guess"

I should mention I am a Computer Science major.

tl;dr Any of you go to a private university? Do you think its worth the enormous amount of debt?
more prestigious universities defiantly give you a good education and an edge when it comes to finding a job after graduation. nothing in life worth doing is easy it takes alot of work and effort. but if its something you love and something you really like to do and see yourself working in that field for the rest of your life go for it, and no college is really easy to pay for these days.
As a 17 year old, I have no answer to your actual question. However, I don't understand why you are surprised at the fact that the course work is hard and there's plenty of homework. Any prestigious university should be hard, or how else do you expect to learn?