So basically I've been playing for two years and still suck at improvising soloes etc, how can I improve? The only scale I know is the minor pentatonic, I feel like no matter how hard I try it just sounds terrible and boring like I'm just going up and down the scale even though I'm not. Should I learn more scales, more guitar theory? (I know next to no guitar theory) What should I be working on? Thanks.
I learned how to hear what degree of scale things are, when played in relevance to each other. That and learning how to get a good feel for each genre. And what each degree sounds like when playing in a scale.
Learn all the scales then Learn how to analyse the song by chords or rythm and see what scale in what note sounds better.

I have lessons so it's not a big problem for me.

When you have it done it's just feeling
Love the Guitar
Gear:
- Ibanez SZR520
- Peavey Vypyr 30w
- Alhambra 2C Classical Guitar
- Tortex .88mm/Jazz III 1.38mm
- Elixir Nanoweb Strings (.009)
first off you gotta learn more scales, if not all your solos are going to sound the same....

I do have another thing to point out, you should try to record yourself.... I honestly hate the way my solos sound when I'm playing them, but when I listen back, and listen to it as if it were someone else playing, it sounds way better to me.... I dunno I might be the only person who ever feels that way, but while I'm playing I always feel like what I'm playing is stale and very repetative then when listening it back it sounds almost professional... just a suggestion....