Ever since I started playing, I have used an unorthodox picking style because it was most comfortable. I found out a year or so later (a while ago) that my style was not "correct." I tried the correct style (the standard one most everyone uses I guess) and it hurt my right index finger where the skin and fingernail met (on the outside, the side facing the thumb). That being said, I didn't continue using the standard technique because it was very uncomfortable. As I have become a better guitarist, I really have noticed my picking technique has been hindering my ability to play, and I've been giving the normal picking stance another go. It still hurts that part of my finger, and I need to know...when you guys started playing, was it like that for you? Did you have to develop a callus on your picking finger as well? I've also noticed, while uncomfortable, my accuracy and attack is GREATLY improved while using the standard picking technique as opposed to my current picking technique.

SORRY FOR THE WALL OF TEXT

TL;DR I use a weird picking technique, trying to go to standard, but it hurts my index finger where the skin meets the fingernail. Any suggestions (am I supposed to have a callus there?)?
Quote by tomc2
i'd probably say just keep playing that way, and if your fingernail is really short, let it grow a little bit, so it's a little bit over the end of the finger

Sorry I guess I wasn't specific enough, the fingernail is the problem. It hurts where the fingernail ends (facing the thumb), where the end of the fingernail meets the skin, so I think if I grew my fingernail it would only worsen the problem.