Hi. Today, my guitar teacher started to teach me on how to read sheet music. I have had very little experience with notes, though. I had lots of trouble trying to play the given material. So, I ask thee, UG, any tips or advice about understanding and reading sheet-music?
Gear :

Jackson JS32T King V
Vox VT40+
Stagg C542
Last edited by Maglun at Sep 25, 2010,
I don't use it, but people I know that use it would write the letter of the note under each note or would write the tab under each note when they were beginning to use it.
I'm so happy. I get to eat a muffin.
Quote by space aids
You are so happy to eat a muffin it's kinda scary.
Quote by ali.guitarkid7
Goes around tryina light dudes on fire.
Quote by MakinLattes
Too much Sublime.

I tell a lie, there is no such thing.
Guitars can teach?

But yeah, it really does take a while - I've been using it on and off for a couple of years and it still takes me like 20 seconds per bar. Practise makes perfect.
I've been learning sheet music for a year and a half now, and all I can say is it takes practice. Sight-reading does come pretty quick once you recognise each individual note. It's the same as playing, you start off slow and build it up quickly.

Knowing the notes on the fretboard will definitely help once you start playing after position one. All I can say is, good luck!
Answers regarding practice is what I hoped not to see, yet I expected those would come. :P Ah well, nothing to it. I could barely figure out the first four notes, even after the teacher pointed out which strings were fretted and which weren't. Practise makes perfect, then, I guess.
Gear :

Jackson JS32T King V
Vox VT40+
Stagg C542
I gave it a go some years ago, I was in my thirties at the time. I got so I could read through easy pieces rather slowly and painfully.....Realized I would have to spend a lot more time and effort to become a "sight reader" than I was willing to.