Hey guys,
I've been playing electric for nearly three years now and bass for about a year and im looking to get an acoustic now. I seem to find myself skipping learning songs because they just dont sound right played on an electric through the clean channel, and since i have some money i thought why not!

I dont really know too much about acoustics, so im looking for opinions on models within my price range.. I cant really get to a music store near me since i cant drive yet and im usually home alone a lot. So far i've seen some Martin DX1'S which i quite like, but cant really comment since i havnt played them.

Thanks,
UnseenBucket.
the best advice i can give you is to play as many guitar as you can above your budget and below your budget and find the one you like best
ibanez acoustics are pretty good imo
Last edited by supersac at Sep 25, 2010,
i don't like the martin x series guitars - they're made with what martin calls HPL (high pressure laminate) that's more like particle board than actual laminate. while it allows for deep lows, it cannot be fixed if it cracks, is more susceptible to weather changes and has less overtones than regular laminate guitars.

seagull would be one of my favorites in this price range. here's the original s6 with electronics
http://www.thomann.de/gb/seagull_s6_the_original_q1.htm
i cannot recommend the original s6 enough. it sounds great, feels great, and is good quality with a nice semi gloss finish.

if you want a silvery sound, gloss finish, nice build quality, narrower neck - here's the acoustic electric version of the yamaha fg730s
http://www.thomann.de/gb/yamaha_fgx730sc_nat.htm

and here's a guitar i haven't gotten to play yet, but i've heard very good things about it from people who not only own it, but know guitars. it's got an englemann spruce top (i LOVE the sound of englemann) and a 1 3/4 nut perfect for fingerpicking.
http://www.thomann.de/gb/yamaha_ll6_nt.htm