Page 1 of 2
so i've been playing for 13 years, and i think i am ready to tackle having a few students. while trying to come up with a lesson plan of sorts, i realized that i've learned so much about the guitar that it's hard to choose where to start. obviously it will vary depending on where the students skill level is, but even still - there is just so much with technique and theory and chords and phrasing and soloing and everything else, i just don't know where to begin. any advice?
keep writing. keep dreaming.

keep the notes coming...

ibanez ftw
You may want to use some sort of instruction book series alongside songs they want to play. Assume they have no skill from the beginning whatsoever:

Start off with the basic explanation of frets and where to place the fingers. This sounds silly, but a new student might get into the habit of placing their fingers on the actual fret instead of the space between. I know I did at first. Another habit one might make is poor posture, so forcefully move their hands in the right position when you catch them.

Next explain the basic tuning. Make sure they understand string numbers start from high to low. Instead of just relying on tabs, have them read standard notation so they can be familiar with note names and the guitar's relation to the staff.

Onto physically playing the guitar: I used this excercise where I would play the first four frets in eighth notes in different patterns, IE 1312, 1314, 1212, etc. I did this on each string. Keep having them do this in every lesson, moving the positions upward until you feel they've got it down instinctually, increasing the speed (tempo or note value) along the way. Starting chords shortly after beginning this excercise, you may increase the chances of your students keeping proper posture. Use the chords mainly for technical purposes at first rather than theory purposes, saving that for later.