Hey guys, I recently scored an Amber Sunburst Ec-1000 on ebay for a super good price. I already have a standard black model with the EMG's in it. I love the tone of the EMG's and its perfect for what I play, but I want to keep passives in the amber Ec-1000, that way I don't have two guitars with nearly identical tone.

I want something that is going to be good for metal, as the seymour Duncan thats currently installed just gets too muddy with high gain. Im looking for a bridge pickup with really nice chunky lows and good mids. I'm not too worried about highs but I'd prefer for them to not be as sterile as the highs on the EMG's.

I have no experience with aftermarket pickups, but I always hear rave reviews about dimarzios. Seymour Duncans seem to be hit or miss but I know theyre a bigger name as well. I have been considering a Duncan Sh-8 Invader but they get very mixed reviews. On the dimarzio side I have been looking at the Dropsonic, The Deactivtor X, and the Super Distortion. I know it comes down to personal preferance, but to give you an idea of the ound I like, think of Metallica's Black Album. I love the guitar tones on that album, even though I like their earlier work much better That or Hatebreed's Rise of Brutality.

Any insight or suggestinons are welcome, thanks!
Bands
xRepresentx
Hellsent (New)

Gear
Schecter Hellraiser Solo 6
Jackson DKMG Dinky
Epiphone SG-400 Limited Edition w/ EMG 81/85

Madison Divinity w/ JJ Preamps
Peavey 6505
2 Custom Built Cabs w/ Celestion Vintage 30's
I have a DiMarzio D-Sonic in my Ibanez, and I absolutely love it, more so than the 81 in the bridge of my LTD.

Ive taken it all the way down to Drop A# and its still very articulate and not muddy.
LTD MH-250NT (With EMG 81/85)
Ibanez RGT42FXQM
Bugera 6260
Seismic Audio 212