So I just got my first bass yesterday. It's a ibanez AEB5E. Acoustic-electric bass. It's pretty cool. I've been playing guitar for 4 years now, and am just picking up a bass. I don't know how to play at all. Where is a good place to start? Any song suggestions? I'm into metal, but I don't think that's the best way to start playing. I'm looking more for a acoustic, reggae, or jazzy sound.
Well if you've been playing guitar for 4 years than a bass should feel pretty familiar to you. Your top 4 strings are the same top 4 on your guitar, and a good place to start is by just playing songs you know on the guitar already, just without chords.

Use the root notes of the chords played on the guitar, and you have the foundation at which you need to play through a song. In my opinion, boring bass players master this simple technique and this alone, which is enough. But intresting bass players, in my opinion, tend to implement more creative things.
Treble>Epiphone Prophecy EX - MXR micro Amp - MXR Blue Box - MXR Fullbore - MXR Noise Clamp - Vox AD30VT
Bass>Ibanez BTB505 - MXR Blowtorch - MXR D.I. - Peavey MaxBass 700 - Peavey TVX410
Quote by Vypor
Well if you've been playing guitar for 4 years than a bass should feel pretty familiar to you. Your top 4 strings are the same top 4 on your guitar, and a good place to start is by just playing songs you know on the guitar already, just without chords.

Use the root notes of the chords played on the guitar, and you have the foundation at which you need to play through a song. In my opinion, boring bass players master this simple technique and this alone, which is enough. But intresting bass players, in my opinion, tend to implement more creative things.

Actually yes I can do that. I transferred a couple of songs from guitar already, but I want to actually learn things. Ya bass does feel familiar to me.