Page 1 of 2
Well, do you?

Even though I have no theoretical knowledge, I've taken to composing some simple sonatinas on Guitar Pro. It's proving to be pretty fun, so far. I can experiment to my heart's content, and sometimes, it sounds good too. In my opinion, at least.

So, have you composed/do you compose any music for orchestral instruments?

Feel free to share files and such.
I'm practicing composing using the twelve tone system and free atonality. Yeah Schoenberg!
I like St. Anger. Ridicule me, daddy

Quote by ErikLensherr

REEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
I do, yes. I've completed some smaller things and I'm working on a bigger project right now. I'm not good at completing things, sadly, but I guess I'll get better at that the more experience I get composing.

I'm mostly inspired by Arthur Honegger, Stravinsky, Gustav Holst, Kryztoz Penderecki and Mussorgsky.
████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
I'm a composition major, so that's what I do all day. I work on mostly chamber and solo pieces right now, ie string quartets, solo violin, solo piano, wind ensembles, etc. I haven't done any real original orchestral works yet but have made a few arrangements.

I think it's good to start off learning traditional harmony and counterpoint. These techniques just set the foundation. The next steps are to analyze how the masters treat forms and developments and how they orchestrate effectively.

If you ever want any pointers, I'll be happy to help.

...modes and scales are still useless.

Quote by PhoenixGRM
Hey guys could you spare a minute to Vote for my band. Go to the site Search our band Listana with CTRL+F for quick and vote Thank you .
Quote by sam b
Voted for Patron Çıldırdı.

Thanks
Quote by PhoenixGRM
But our Band is Listana
Quote by Kensai