i never really got into using one. i have a glass slide, and it sounds cool, but i just can't get the hang of the damn thing. i really want to incorporate it into my playing but i just don't get it. i've been playing for 13 years, and just now am getting interested in using one.

any suggestions or things to practice or listen to would be wonderful
keep writing. keep dreaming.

keep the notes coming...

ibanez ftw
FREEBIRD! For the first 4 minutes of it, the leads are mostly slides. And another one I like is No More Tears by Ozzy.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
Are you using an open tuning? Open tunings sound a chord, usually major when all strings on the same fret are strummed, making it perfect for slide. Also, a high action makes slide a lot easier. If you're trying to play it in standard tuning, try plucking out "A" shaped chords, or double stops on the higher strings.

Playing blues in an open tuning is a good place to start, as your I-IV-V chords are open, 5th fret, 7th fret.
First, it helps to have a guitar dedicated to sllide playing. The action needs to be high enough to avoid striking the frets with the slide.
They sell a cute little adaptor that goes over your nut and raises the action just enough for good slide playing....If you can't afford a dedicated axe.

Second, you need to mute the strings behind the slide. Most players wear the slide on thier pinkie, and you rest the index finger on the strings behind the slide to prevent all those raspy and extraneous noises.
(Unless you want 'em... Sometimes a bit of "rasp" is cool....)

Place the slide directly over the fret. Practice sliding "into" a note from a few frets up or down.
A good vibrato is part and parcel of slide technique, most folks need to practice quite a bit.