Hey Guys,

I have been playing guitar for roughly 7 years, and have recently picked up a Rockschool Grade 8 book/CD, in the hope of passing sometime within the next few months, which will greatly help my university application, as I'm applying for modern music universitys, which require Grade 8 from Rock School.

I have no real difficulty with the pieces, or the technical exercises (aside from the sweep picking, but its coming along alright, with practice), but I'd like to get a bit more information from those who have passed the exam, or have knowledge of it.

1. I have 2 of the piece from the book (667 and What Happened To Jazz?) down solidly, but because of the sheer banality and lack of inspiration from the disappointing pieces, I really can't be bothered to force myself to learn one more.

What free choice piece would be a good song to choose, based around feel and emotive playing, as opposed to technical?

My first instinct was to play a Fall of Troy song, as some of their songs are really technical and, as one of my favourite bands, I would be inspired to learn more, but having 667 down, I wondered if I should mix it up a bit, and play to my strengths a bit more.

Any opinions on this? What songs did you do, if you did free choice?

2. What scales to I actuall have to prepare? It says in the book "chromatically from G to B, in 6 modes", does this mean (3 octave) Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian and Aolian scales for G, G#, A, A#, B?

Please correct me if I'm wrong, as I'd like to make either a Guitar Pro file, or simply notate the scales I need to know, for practice.

Thanking you all in advance, and I would request that if you are curious about grades etc, please do not post here, but google Rock School grades for your information.

Regards,

-Bryn
I'd learn fusion as the third piece its actually quite fun!