Hey guys, I have recently decided to pick up my acoustic guitar and do a little bit of experimentation in the tuning area. Last night I learnt some of the song Parabola by Tool which is in B E D G B E tuning; i don't know the name for this.

But anyway, i was mucking around on this for a while and then i thought, why not tune down half a step?... So now the tuning is A# D# C# F# A# D# and I friggen love this tuning, it has even inspired me to write some-what of an instrumental song.

My fear is that it is going to severly warp and screw around with my neck...
Im currently running 11-52 strings...

How badly is this going to mess with my neck and will i need to change string gauge or completely ignore this tuning?

Cheers for your help,
TheAscendendant
okay, sweet as, its also about a 5 year old guitar, will that cause any problems?
and it has never been set up before as i was a beginner when i got it and didnt know much
about guitars?
If it's never beenn set up then now is a good time to kill 2 birds with one stone. Any guitar will benefit from being set up, even a fairly new guitar (I noticed outstanding improvements in playability on my RG afterward)

Take it in to your local shop, they'll ask what kind of setup you want- I usually name a band or artist like Vai- and they'll do it for you. Tell them the tuning and they'll make sure everything is adjusted to be perfect for your needs
Alternate tunings will not warp a guitar. Guitar necks have metal reinforcing truss rods to prevent it from doing so.

If you play in standard tuning most of the time, have your guitar set up to that with a little bit of leeway so that you can do lower tunings if you decide to go down there.
Equipment:
- Art & Lutherie Cedar CW (SOLD! )
- Martin D-16RGT w/ LR Baggs M1 Active Soundhole Pickup
- Seagull 25th Anniversary Flame Maple w/ LR Baggs Micro EQ

Have an acoustic guitar? Don't let your guitar dry out! Click here.
Quote by captivate