Hi guys,

Once again my plans are changing and all and I don't know what I should wrap my head around for what new amp to get.

Im thinking about getting a 2x12 and a lowish wattage head.

Honestly, Im a complete noob when it comes to heads and cabs.

I am going to go used, there is no doubt about that, with both the head and cab.

I do lots of bedroom playing, and I gig occasionally, and I need to be heard over the drummer. I need low volumes that sound well, and lots of headroom.

Now the stuff ya'll are gonna want to know.

Closest City: Boston
Budget: Head - 450 USD used Cab - 300 USD used

Now for what I play. I play a lot of clean/mild overdriven stuff, and that is a good portion of what I play. I need the headroom for when I gig. I also play some pretty heavy rock, like Alter Bridge and Coheed & Cambria. They are as heavy as I go. And I do play Classic Rock.

Now...Things I've considered

Cabs - Avatar 2x12, and not much else, I know very little about Cabs
Heads - Jet City JCA50H, Egnater Rebel, Egnater Tweaker, JCM900 50W, Fender Bassman, the lower wattage Oranges, Blackstar.

Im thinking I need at least 20W due to gigging and being heard over the drummer.

Oh yeah, a effects loop and tubes are ideal.

If anything else is needed let me know!

Thanks guys!
2012 Gibson Les Paul Custom Classic
2001 Schecter C-1 Classic
2007 Yamaha APX500
Vox AC15CC1 w/ Eminence Tonkerlite
Assorted Pedals!

All for sale!

Call me Matt!
Tweaker with EL34s? Bumps it up to 50 watts. I personally find that a single channel head with a good amount of headroom works great for cleans/OD if you have independent volume controls on your guitar.

Keep an eye out for Peavey VTMs or Butchers, they go for super cheap and are JCM800 clones.

Traynor YCV50 Blue is a good combo option.
I got a Crate Stealth 100 if your interested
Reverbnation.com/offthewitness
Quote by forsaknazrael