I decided to take my playing further and learn me some theory. Oringinals already dominate almost all of what i play, and ive read that deathmetal-metal in general doesnt really follow too much theory at all. Like i said i tho i just started learning the theory and wanted to know.
-Peavey 6505+
-Bugera 333xl(w/6l6 pt's) -dead
-412 X-pattern loaded w/ WGS veteran30s & HM75s
-Gibson Les Paul, SD Blackouts *being worked on back to stock*
-Jackson DR7, EMGs
-LTD MH417
-Peavey Vyper 75w
You read wrong! There's really nothing to 'follow' with theory. There are conventions but no one takes those seriously anymore. Start here: musictheory.net.

As you learn, start looking at your favorite metal songs/compositions analytically.
i don't know why i feel so dry
so its not a waste of time to learn it then. clarifying.
-Peavey 6505+
-Jackson DR7, EMGs
-LTD MH417
-Peavey Vyper 75w
Quote by OurRequiem
so its not a waste of time to learn it then. clarifying.

No, not at all, but there's one catch. It won't be worth anything to you unless you start using it. There are two things you have to do. 1) Write songs. Looks like you're already doing that. 2) Look at things theoretically. That's how practice becomes perfect.
Quote by Eastwinn
No, not at all, but there's one catch. It won't be worth anything to you unless you start using it. There are two things you have to do. 1) Write songs. Looks like you're already doing that. 2) Look at things theoretically. That's how practice becomes perfect.

alright thanks for clarifying, i wasnt sure...but now i am.
-Peavey 6505+
-Jackson DR7, EMGs
-LTD MH417
-Peavey Vyper 75w
music theory can be applied to death metal, death metal is my favourite genre of music these days and im also studying a diploma of music for basiclly the same reasons as you stated in your post, to improve my songwritting ability and to be able to analyze the music i like and have a logical, systematic explanation of why it sounds good.