So I am looking for a new amp. I'm a competent guitarist, I have band experience (currently between bands unfortunately...), I play at church sometimes, and I already have a 4 ohm 2x12 cab with WGS G12-80 clones.

SO. My budget is no more than $600. Yeah, I'm a cheapie, but with college next year and having a slow-paying job and a car that eats $20 bills, I can't do much better.

Will almost certainly be buying used.

Bands I like to play- Green Day, Foo Fighters, Kyuss, Fu Manchu, the Misfits, Nirvana, Soundgarden, Led Zeppelin. Basically I want usable cleans (so no 5150/6505 please) a good crunch tone that will respond well with a boost/OD, and I'd also like it to be able to take on fuzz pedals too.

Amps I've already checked out:
Marshall Class 5 - great sound, probably not loud enough for a band right? Also I'd have to buy a 16ohm cab if I wanted a bigger one...
Peavey Windsor head - 800 clone... I'm not big on the '80s thrash tone but what else can this thing do?
Epiphone Blues Custom 30 - Perhaps not the best use of my money since it's a combo, but my mind is open. I keep hearing about their amazing cleans, but hows the overdrive?
Epiphone So Cal 50 - Seems like the sound I'm going for based on youtube demos, I guess this is what I'm attracted to the most, I just don't know about the quality. Anyone have any experience with this one?
Orange Tiny Terror - I love the Orange sound, I'm just weary of spending $4-500 on a class A head with 3 knobs.

Anything else that would make sense for me that I'm missing?

EDIT: Also, my guitar is a DIY Esquire with a GFS Neovin pickup.
Epiphone Dot
DIY Esquire w/Neovin Power Rock pickup
Vox AC30VR 212
Arion MTE-1 (LED clipping diodes added)
Vox Tonelab LE
Roland SDE1000 delay

Quote by DaMarsbarPerson
By high-gain I don't mean stupid stuff. I just mean styles like Motley Crue or Iron Maiden
Last edited by MortifiedLizard at Sep 29, 2010,