Seriously, this is beginning to bug me big time.

I've been playing bass for almost 4 years and still I have no finger calluses on my fretting hand (my right). I've got (or had) a thumb callus from playing slap-bass (lost most of it falling off my bike) yet my frettting hand doesn't seem to have any sort of callus there at all.

Mind you, I have no problem playing without calluses (I can play for hours). It's just that it's weird that I don't have any....
I'm a guitarist (a little less intense on the fingers) and I never got calluses. My fingers simply stopped hurting. Trust me, it's actually better to be like this. I hear people complain about how thick calluses can be.
Quote by Guitar Sushi
I'm a guitarist (a little less intense on the fingers) and I never got calluses. My fingers simply stopped hurting. Trust me, it's actually better to be like this. I hear people complain about how thick calluses can be.

Could be just the bassists I've talked with and known, but all of them swear that getting calluses is essential.
you mite have them, they may just be very thin and not noticeable like mine.

There is no discoloration or anything, just slightly harder skin.
Quote by Guitar Sushi

i play guitar also, you probably have calluses you just dont notice them

compare your fingers to the same fingers on the other hand by touching 1 finger with your thumb and the other finger with the same thumb.

on mine theres a huge difference
yeah ive never really gotten them, from bass or guitar
"The man that hath no music in himself, nor is not moved with concord of sweet sounds, is fit for treasons, stratagems, and spoils. The motions of his spirit are dull as night, and his affections dark as Erebus. Let no such man be trusted."
To be honest this is one of the last things you should be worried about. If your fingertips become tender after playing for a bit then it would be an issue, but if there's no pain then you're fine.

What strings do you use, by the way?