I'm new to the Ultimate Guitar Forums, but I've been playing for a few years, and have been collecting various gear and amps. I know where almost every piece of my gear has come from, as well as its specific model name/history and year make save one. This SG.

Now, I know several people will be quick to point out that this is an Epiphone Les Paul Custom G-400 SG, and will question why on earth I am wasting their time with this post. To those people I say, find it in black on the web. This model is NOT the typical G400 custom, and as far as I can tell, is a "Custom" G400 Custom (as redundant as that sounds)

All I'm trying to find out is the year it was made, any significant differences to the regular G400 custom it might have (it appears very close in design, but there are a few things on the modern G400's that dont line up with this one) and if it's worth more or less than the regular G400. ***NOTE*** This guitar is not for sale, I'm trying to find the worth so I can appraise it for insurance.

A few things on it that may help you guys:

1: On the back of the headstock it has a logo that reads "Epiphone" Limited Edition Custom Shop, in gold lettering. (sorry I cant provide a pic of that at the moment, my camera is messed up, and the only pic I have is from a couple of years ago)

2: It has Grover Tuners, not the Kluson inspired ones like the newer G400's have

3: I think it was made before 2005 because I bought it from a guy 2 years ago and he claimed he had owned it for 3 years

Long story short, can someone help me find the origins of this SG?
Attachments:
SG resized 2.bmp
oh, and if this is in the wrong section, could someone tell me where this topic is supposed to go?
If its a fake, then its the most well made fake I've ever seen. This a real Epiphone SG as far as I can tell, and it doesnt look to be modified in any way. I can probably get a higher quality photos on in the next few days.