I just bought a marshall act 150h amp head today. I have it running through a marshall 4x12 half stack. I am new to stack amps, Ive only needed a combo before. All the settings on this amp are a little overwhelming, but im getting used to it. I play metal/metalcore/hardcore. The tone im getting out of this amp sounds muffled, and very bassy. Ive tried messing around with it but cant seem to figure it out. Are there any tips or anything someone can give me to mess with this amp?
honestly, thats the nature of these amps. i used to have the combo of your head version. it was terrible. the only way i could fix this was by not turning the channel volume up very high, and by using the master volume to control it more, i had it the opposite for years because i knew nothing about the amp and thought since it had a tube in it i turn it up it sounds better right? nope. that fixed it partially, but it still was very boomy, and unclear, did not come through when there were other instruments around, etc. the only other thing id suggest is an eq pedal or similar. i dont want to discourage you from your amp or anything but imho id say try to return the head you bought, because its really not that desirable of an amp. especially for your styles. but you probably bought it used im guessing and thats not an option. always do the messing around BEFORE you buy an amp.

EDIT:
Quote by xNIHILISMx
Reallyy? thats all there is to it? cuz if so then its just the tone of the amp :x

pretty much
Gibson SG Special Faded(Super Distortion/PAF Pro)
Carvin V3M
Jet City JCA2112RC
Taylor 114e
Ibanez SR300e

Quote by Delanoir
In 60 years, there will still be Opeth.
You know why?
Death ain't got **** on Mikael.
Last edited by Linqua5150 at Sep 29, 2010,
Quote by xNIHILISMx
Reallyy? thats all there is to it? cuz if so then its just the tone of the amp :x

It could also be because your using a 150 watt amp. You probably have the volume running on like .1, which results in a more muffled tone.