I figured a thread were people could ask for help choosing a new guitar would not be a bad idea. I just looked for one before posting this and could not see one, but I think it would be a useful addition to have pinned.

Whether you choose to or not, I need some help.

I have been playing guitar for 2 years now and my starter electric just isnt going to cut it anymore. I find it puts me off plugging in to my underused vox vt50 these days.

What I am looking for is a fender stratocaster, in the price range of £400 - £600. I think the ideal amount of action would be about just under half a centimeter above the fretboard at the highest frets, but action is not really something im worried about so long as it is easy to customize. A good tremolo system would be very nice too.

The electric stuff I most often find myself playing is pink floyd and led zep, but im looking to start learning some jeff beck and randy rhoads. I know I said I am looking for a strat, but I would consider anything which would be good for playing this kind of stuff.
Almost every one of the bands you said used a les paul at one point or another. But as far as strats go, there are some really nice MIJ squiers from the eighties that you can get for pretty cheap that come with a trem system(though I don't know how it is)
Quote by mikeyb9m3bek
I figured a thread were people could ask for help choosing a new guitar would not be a bad idea. I just looked for one before posting this and could not see one, but I think it would be a useful addition to have pinned.

Whether you choose to or not, I need some help.

I have been playing guitar for 2 years now and my starter electric just isnt going to cut it anymore. I find it puts me off plugging in to my underused vox vt50 these days.