So, I have an old epiphone sg laying around, and decided it would be fun to fix her up a bit with some new bells and whistles. Unfortunately, I've never done this before, so I want to know a few things:

1. Is it possible to put a Floyd rose on a this guitar ( it's an epiphone sg special)? If so, how does one go about taking out the metal rings that held the stop bar tailpiece in place?

2. Can I add a second tone knob?
Guitars

1992 Fender Standard Stratocaster
2009 Gibson Les Paul Studio
2010 Gibson Les Paul Traditional Pro
Ovation Celebrity 6-String Acoustic
Fender BG29 Acoustic 4-string Bass
1. With enough skill, you could put a floyd rose on a trash can. So yes, it could be done, but why? Do you have woodworking and mechanical skills, and have access to a router?

My personal solution would be to sell SG, and apply money to buying a cheap Ibanez that already has a floyd rose. Personally, I don't like FR's. I have a FR on one of my guitars, and once I got past my "want to be a divebombing metal god" phase I blocked it off and now don't use the trem at all other than to hold strings.
Ya, you can, but it wouldn't be worth it. I also blocked my Floyd from pulling up because I never hardly use it anyway. I do like Floyds though, especially now because it is really easy to string, tune, and set-up.
***Guitars***
Epiphone Les Paul Custom AP (w/ 2 Seymour Duncans)
Jackson Dx10D Dinky (w/ DiMarzio PAF Bridge)
Epihpone Hummingbird

***Amps***
Marshall JCM 2000 DSL 100 (Voodoo Modified)
Custom 4x12 Halfstack (w/ Veteran 30's)
yea. i also got a guitar with a floyd only to block it off a few months later. but regardless im sure u could. my only thing would be that and sg is very thin and idk. maybe is u got a single direction floyd.(idk if thats the right term but one u can only dive on not pull up.)
You COULD put a floyd rose. The bridge alone would probably cost more than the guitar, you'd need a router, you might have to refinish it, etc.