Hey guys, I've been having trouble playing my new acoustic. I've always played electric with low guage strings, and now that I'm so used to it, I have trouble pressing down the strings on the acoustic. Are there any exercises that can train my hands to hold more pressure and control?
I don't have any advice, but if it makes you feel better, I've been playing for 8+ years and still have trouble playing acoustic guitars.
Quote by SteveHouse
This thread is officially about sucking Sleaze off for a sig.

Quote by tayroar
Hey Sleaze I'll give you a blowjob if you sig me. Maybe even some nudey photos?

Quote by crazy8rgood

Sleaze, that made me lulz in my pants.

Quote by 36mikeyb36
hahaha Sleaze i'd give you my mom for that one.
Maybe you should set up your guitar,lower the action.As for string gauge-in my opinion you shouldn'nt be going under 11.
well ive been playing for about 4 or 5 years, but not hammering it out like 4 hours a day...i can construct a song but my hands wont help me! hahah
Play more acoustic. It's possible that the action on your acoustic is abnormally high because of neck warping, but more likely than not it's just that your hands aren't strong enough. I've been playing daily for several years and sometimes just playing barre shapes on acoustic in low positions will wear my hand down after an hour or two.
You could try building up your finger strength by using even heavier gauges such as 13's on your acoustic for a while. You'll suffer in the beginning, but it's definitely worth it later on.
Equipment:
- Art & Lutherie Cedar CW (SOLD! )
- Martin D-16RGT w/ LR Baggs M1 Active Soundhole Pickup
- Seagull 25th Anniversary Flame Maple w/ LR Baggs Micro EQ

Have an acoustic guitar? Don't let your guitar dry out! Click here.
I had this problem as well, mainly being an electric player. What I did was keep the action nice and low, which always helps, and dropped the string gauge from 12s to 11s.