Page 1 of 2
Hi guys,

I'm currently using an entry level korean-made Rally Les Paul. Genres I normally play is thrash and extreme metal. I've been playing for ard 3 years now (2 years for electric) and I'm thinking of getting a second axe.

I've been told that given the weight of the les paul, the wood and kind of tone and sustain as well as the neck thickness, it is less suitable for extreme forms of metal. Is it true. What if I change the pickups to say blackouts or EMGs, does it render the les paul's original qualities useless?

I'm hoping to get an ESP V-II in the near future by the way so need some advice.
The only thing you need is a guitar with a humbucker in the bridge to play metal. And even then...

A high gain amp is much more important than which guitar you use.
Hufschmid
Blackat
Washburn USA Custom Shop
PRS
Mayones
Orange
Diezel
Engl
In general, no you don't need any specific guitars to play metal. It's a matter of personal preference.
First off, the rumor that a Les Paul is not suited for metal is way off. I've had my Agile LP for a full year come this November and until this past week, good luck getting me to hammer out a blues riff. The wood is very resonant, the neck thickness makes it more suited to rhythm in my honest opinion BUT that's personal and very debatable. The pickups, I take it your LP has two humbuckers? Humbuckers are the way to go for metal. They are your stereotypical go-to pickup for more distorted tones. If you want metal I would HIGHLY advise the blackouts or EMG's, considering they're both active pickups. If you don't know the difference between active and passive, look it up, your problem's just been solved.

The weight is personally a plus for me. I prefer my guitars to feel dense and heavy, allows them to sit right when playing standing up with a strap, and just feels to me like they seem to resonate more. Feels like the wood effects the tone a little more than it would if it was a very light, not-so-dense wood.