I have been playing for ten years doing tabs and stuff, I taught myself so I really didn't learn chords or anything and just learned from tabs and trial and error..I want to get better, not to be cocky or anything but I feel like I am pretty damn good.. but I feel like I just am a rhythm guitarist with small hands....I want to play lead, solos, and just shred....where can I start to finally get better
So you know lots of scales already, Maj/Minor throughout the neck for example?
honestly... the best thing you can do is get a teacher..... this will help alot since you will get to learn from a person how to play certian techniques and more theory...... if you don't learn theory it will be really dificult to be able to shred..... it really helps to know what can be played where ahead of time..... after learning theory there should be alot less trial and error
I don't know scales either, I know of them...just don't know remember them. I know things, just don't know formal training, theories...I am very raw...there are no teachers around here that aren't worth a damn. Any books or instructional DVDs that anyone recommends?
Quote by waltb87
, not to be cocky or anything but I feel like I am pretty damn good..

This sounds extremely cocky for someone who considers themself a rhythm player.

Aside from that, I'd start small, with basics. If you know chords, start learning major scales. Then minor. Then pentatonic. Then blues.

Metal is mostly blues/pentatonic scales sped up without any feel and with a shit load of distortion.
I have many theory books but the best one by far is Fretboard Theory by Desi Serna.
He explains everything in plain english. He had me completly understanding Modes in about 5 minutes. I ended up buying the book and videos.
http://guitar-music-theory.com/
Quote by Oneill9293

Aside from that, I'd start small, with basics. If you know chords, start learning major scales. Then minor. Then pentatonic. Then blues.