So for a bit of fun and my own personal preference in guitars I decided that there is pretty much no "perfect" guitar out there for me, sure there are some that are good, even great at that, but no stock guitar out there has ever made me think "I need that". As such I'm building one, at least will be soon. Problem is that I am by no means expert in probably all the fields required to do this. So I have a lot of questions to get answers to before I can really get started on building.

From my logic right now a pickup in an electric guitar is probably where the starting point should be, get a pickup for the sound you want, find the wood that best suits the pickup, get the parts that work with the pickup... I may be wrong but hey, you have to start somewhere and this is where I am deciding my start point should be.

Anyway so I got this weird thing for 3 humbucker guitars. Problem is like I said I am by no means an expert in this field(that being humbuckers).

So the first question I have is: "Is there such thing as a correct spacing for this set up?"

As in how far the pickups need to be from each other and how far the pickups should be from the neck and bridge (this includes the middle pickups). I've heard stuff in the past about having a pickup too close to the bridge will cause it to pickup the sounds of the strings on the other side of the bridge, but I never heard of anything like that for the neck side.

Second question: "Is there a difference in using a bridge or a neck pickups in the middle position?"

From reading some inquires about putting bridge pickups in the neck position saying that the only difference between the two(this is assuming that they are the same model of pickup) is the output level. although I am also assuming that one will have a more bass sound than the other. So is there any preference for which type of pickup should be used in the middle position and what are the pros and cons of each option.