Alright, I'm a guitarist. But im looking to pick up bass to as a little something extra to do for fun, and maybe in a band if I can get pretty good at it. I'm selling my Schecter C-1 Hellraiser [for $450 in louisville in case anyones interested] and going out to get a decent bass/amp. I have a PA system i could run the bass through until I got a decent amp i guess. But what should i look for sound wise in bass guitars and amps? I'd be using it metal, and 80s hair band style music.
I am also a guitar player... so, I was anti squire as anyone could possibly be. BUT, I was on here quite a bit asking the exact same question as you. Bottom line I ended up buying a squire classic vibe jazz bass and am EXTREAMLY happy with it!! I also bought an acoustic b20 amp off musicans friend for 150 or 160 bucks. Bottom line I take guitar a little more seriously, but my bass set up is great for toying around with. Sounds great, very versitile, and didn't break the bank. I would consider looking into it if I were you.

PS. I AM NOT A BASS EXPERT. but I had a lot of people tell me epi basses are as crappy as they come. Just something to consider.
Last edited by jsspang at Oct 3, 2010,
Is your budget what you get from selling your Schecter?
-Number of strings?
-Would you want a beginner instrument or more of an intermediate thing?
-Almost any bass will do metal, the sound is just your preference.
-If in doubt Squier/Fender J will do anything.

Quote by Gyoung1991
I am a huge fan of the epiphone thunderbird, incredible bang for your buck.

Yeah.....no.

Quote by jsspang