hey guys

Do you think learning all the patterns and shapes is really necessary?

Some time ago I used major/minor/pentatonic scale patterns to improvise/play, I still know one or 2 pentatonic boxes, but I'm trying to learn the best way. I started practicing a lot the C Major/A minor scale in order to "memorize" all the natural notes on the fretboard. Did it for a few months and it worked, now I know where are all the natural notes on the fretboard.

But then I see guys like Guthrie Govan or Chris Brooks doing some super fast runs for all over the fretboard and I can't do that (not even slow), and it reminds me of patterns, I think like maybe if I knew patterns I could do that easier. I also have other problems created by not knowing patterns. When soloing in a kew that has lots of sharps/flats (B Major i.e), I have many problems because I still don't know where are the accidental notes very well. I have a "plan" to overcome this, I'm training major/minor scales on the order of the cycle of fifths, by both sides (...Bb F C G D...) because in this order it keeps adding one sharp/flat, and this is a good way to train note by note until I know all the 12. The only keys that I'm super comfortable playing "by notes" are C, G, D and F (and of course the relative minors and relative modes)

And using pentatonics not by pattern is a little difficult to because they only have 5 notes - not 7 like the major/minor, and with 7 notes we have more "places to go" all over the fretboard. I usually overcome this last problem using some extra notes when playing Blues (one of the occasions I use pentatonics, add a 2nd and a 6th, cool Dorian sound) and using the major/minor scales while not playing Blues, but i.e to play "pure" blues sounding it is a little bit complicated. Any thoughts about this? Should I learn all the boring patterns or should I keep practicing note by note until I have the full domain of the fretboard?