So, here's my deal; I do not currently own a guitar or an amp. I am an OBSESSIVE researcher before I get into new hobbies, and amps are still... Foreign to me. Here's what I got so far...

I will be playing a Les Paul-style guitar. I am very interested in playing post-rock, indie-rock, Tool-esque stuff as well. Not super into heavy music, but I would love an amp with the ability to crank some fuzz through when I have a Stoner-Metal day.

A headphone jack would be an awesome bonus, as my house is VERY small and my roomate can hear everything.

Budget: $350. I can add $50 for the right amp. I see a TON of stuff on Ebay, but I don't know enough to make an informed decision

Use: Home practice, and EVENTUALLY, gigs/jamming. This seems like a far off idea, and it really is, but doesn't spending $350 ONCE beat spending $100-$200 twice? In other words, a bigger amp/speaker combo now, with an adequate master volume/headphone jack, will save me money down the line. Also, the really nice "small" amps cost nearly as much. Maybe I'm wrong in my reasoning...

I would love something with a footswitch jack, as well.

I'm not closed-minded to the idea of a solid-state, but again, totally lost.
Fender Super Champ XD.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??
Used valve king maybe. Also location that is a big help to us because we know what craigslist and guitar.centers to look at.
I don't believe the Super Champ will pull off some of the things TS wants.

Where are you located? We'll search Craigslist for you and see what we can find.

A VK does seem like a good idea. With a boost or an EQ pedal, it could easily pull off heavier music, and by itself could do pretty much everything you want decently.
I was gonna pull for the Valve King too. I'm not much of a Peavey guy myself but those and the Classic series are nice IMO.
Gear
Highway One Tele (w/Custom Shop 51 Nocaster pickups)