I'm modding a Xaviere XV-870 and im new to changing pickups. First off is it even a "do it yourself" thing?

Secondly i played a guitar in a music store that had a Pearly Gates bridge and a Seymour Duncan JB in the neck. I liked it, but what are you guys favorite combinations? The sound im looking for is just the best clean sound i can get. best i can explain is THIS sound. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AIwm7Z4G-j4

Distortion is nice, but not a selling point in this. I have to switch from single coil to humbuckers too. i get the feeling thatll be a bitch.
Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety. -Benjamin Franklin
it's do-it yourself if you can solder (or even if you're willing to learn, but obviously don't start on your guitar, lol).

the xv870 is the strat-style one, right?

first thing to do is take off the scratchplate to see how the body is routed.

EDIT: that was some nice clean tone in that video I get the feeling that it's somewhat more amp-dependent than guitar- i could be wrong, but I didn't hear anything terribly guitar-specific in there, like the way when you hear a strat and if the person doesn't have a strat, that's the problem.
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Et tu, br00tz?