Hey guys, I would put this in the "original recordings" section with a midi file, but my midi can't do cello for shit, so all I've got is the score.

Anyways, I'm in a composition seminar where the topic is music for the cello. Since I'm a pianist, I figured it'd be fun to do something for cello and piano for my final project. So I'm writing a cello sonata. I've just finished the exposition, so if anyone would like to tell me what they think, I'd be very interested in any comments.

Also, any cellists/string players that could comment on the playability of the cello part. I'm still becoming familiar with it, so any comments on the actual cello writing would also be appreciated.

So here's the score:
https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&pid=explorer&chrome=true&srcid=0B9wYtm5NwTTVZGUyODg5ODAtMjc1Ni00ODRiLTk3MDktYWRkYjdkZjUwOGIz&hl=en

NOTE: measures 34 and 36 are the same, but I was unsure what the best way to notate what I wanted was, so I wrote it in two different ways. Also, in measure 48, the bass notes are supposed to be Gs
Last edited by nmitchell076 at Mar 18, 2011,
What program did you use to render that? It's difficult to see where the notes lie exactly. Like the very first note; I thought that was an A originally but the A# at the end of the measure is placed higher up, so it had to be a G not an A. However the second and third notes, F and F# presumably, are so close to the first staff line that I wonder if they are actually Fs. Don't mean to nitpick but it is somewhat confusing.
Its finale, but I think the issue is with Google Docs. The more you zoom in, the clearer it becomes, though. It looks fine on the printed page, but since the note sits just barely above-center on the lines, when its in PDF format, it looks like its off the line when your zoomed out.

It becomes clear on my screen whenever your zoomed in so that the page width just about matches the computer screen width.
Last edited by nmitchell076 at Mar 18, 2011,