I was playing too much this evening...Way too much. I'm still a newbie to guitar and when I get something going and into a song, it's hard to stop (can any of you relate?)

Anyway, I played for hours. Took a few breaks in between. Now my index finger on my left hand is numb and tingly. it's really annoying because it feels like it's a asleep. I keep massaging it and it's not helping.

What can I do??? It doesn't seem to be swollen or anything...

Sigh.
It may be an issue coming from improper technique, or just too much playing. Could you go into more detail? For example, what kind of stuff were you playing/doing, and for how long?
I was an Internet Witness in the mike.h Murder Case.
Quote by Pauldapro
this man is right. everything he says is right. so, stop killing people and get therapy ffs
Put it in some warm water for 10 or 15 minutes or untill the water loses its warmth, that should help a bit
Thanks ampoverload!

I was just playing basic chords (G, D, Em, C or something.) No bar chords. Possibly for 3 hours with breaks in between.

I can bend it and move it fine. It's still tingly and numb hours later though so I'm going to try putting it in warm water.

Sorry, I know this is a bit of a silly thread, I just wanted to to know if anything like this happened to any of you before and if it when away quickly.
Last edited by Light&Sound at Mar 19, 2011,
Quote by Light&Sound

Sorry, I know this is a bit of a silly thread, I just wanted to to know if anything like this happened to any of you before and if it when away quickly.

This is not a silly thread. We all get worried about strange occurrences happening in our body.

Make sure you have proper technique, because I don't think it's common to have numbness when starting to play. Otherwise, see a physician if the problem recurs.

By the way, I will keep playing a song over and over again when I just learn it, even if it's just one part.
I can relate w/ u. Got addicted to the Trigun Opening Theme. lol