I am beginning the process of building my own guitar and have all the materials chosen out ready to be purchased but I ended up with one question.

Should I build my own neck or buy one off a website like Warmoth? ( I want the guitar to sound good )

Here is what you may need to know about the guitar:
7-String
Locking Tremolo System
Glue On (planning to, but I would be ok with a mount)
Compounded Fingerboard (~10-16'') -- I would buy this with fretslots
24 Frets

My worries about building my own:
I mess up the truss rod/some other part resulting is unsolvable fret buzz.
Headstock angle
So much other stuff I could mess up on that would ruin the sound of the entire guitar.

Thanks for the advice

Edit: And yes, I have never built one before
Last edited by purple37 at Mar 20, 2011,
my opinion if you've never done it before, just buy one, it is a lot of work, fretwork, measurements etc.
'93 Gibson LP Studio (498T/490R)-Ebony
'14 Gibson LP Standard (JB/Jazz)-Ocean Water Perimeter
Epi MKH LP Custom-7 (SD Custom Shop JB-7)-Ebony
+More

Maxon od808|Boss NS-2|Boss CE-5|
Line6 G55|Korg Pitchblack Pro

JVM 210h|1960a(V30/G12t-75)
Necks are a helluva lot more detailed than the body. Make your body, but the neck. If you are really determined to be a luthier; build it. But you say you wanted it to be good...buy one.
<Insert Witty Comment Here>

1981 Fender Lead I Seymour Duncan humbucker, Mesa BoogieIIIRectifer, MKIIRhodes,PRS
I think buying a pre-slotted fretboard would save a lot of the headaches - you could try building it and go that route instead of doing it ALL yourself the first time.

Stewmac sells them for like... 20 bucks or so - dont know the quality but I'd assume decent based on their reputation.
Ball Custom Mark I

Korg Pitchblack > Dunlop Crybaby wah > mODDball audio Green Bastard > Marshall GV2 Guv'nor Plus > EHX Holy Stain > MXR Phase 90 > MXR Carbon Copy

Jet City JCA20h
Epiphone Valve Jr.
Blackstar HTV212