Page 1 of 2
I'd like to get an LP style guitar. As I'm not a proffessional player and play only for myself it should be up to $1000.

From the looks I like the
1) Epiphone Appetite model - bit afraid of the quality. Don't know about the sound. Gibson Appetite sound is excellent but out of my price range.
2) ESP Eclipse II - the distressed finish is nice and sound should be good.
3) LTD EC-1000FM - no glue of the quality or sound
4) Any Gibson's for that price that make sense?

Please share your experience with those. Maybe some other models?
Eclipse ll
Caparison Angelus HGS, EMG 85/85 18V | Krank Rev1, JJ's | Mesa Recto Cab | Maxon OD808
Check out the Les Paul Studio's. If you find a nice one for around $1000 you will be very satisfied. I've played a few recently as I may be purchasing one in the future and they are real nice. That's my vote! Make this a poll?
You should decide if you want a Les Paul style body or a Les Paul style guitar. LPs have a 24.75" scale as most others on your list have 25.5". Also, LPs generally do not have active pups.

I just saw the same Gibson LP Studio Silverburst (with 60's neck and push/pull pots) I have, used for $999 at the Guitar Center in Manhattan. The location in Chicago has it used for $899. Just search the used section on the GC website. Also note that Gibsons come with a hard shell case and most others on your list do not. Thats an extra $130 you could be using.
Gear

EB MusicMan JP6 - Pearl White
Gibson LP Studio - Silverburst
Schecter C-1 Classic - Quilted Blue
Schecter Banshee (x2) - Marine Blue
Taylor GS-Mini
Blackstar HT-5 Mini Half Stack
Line 6 HD500
As I live in the middle of nowhere I don't have the luxury of testing the different models. So I need to rely on what people suggest.

So here's what I know I want:
a) Should be with a fixed bridge (have a strat and it's not quite it).
b) Should have HH pickups.
c) Like the looks of an LP, especially would kill for a flametop, honeyburst and similar.